It’s been 27 hours since a nail bomb went off in the foyer of the Manchester arena at the end of a pop concert with around 21,000 people inside. 

27 hours later and I’m still trying to process the events of the 22nd May. 

Manchester is my hometown. It’s where I’ve lived for my whole life. Even now whilst I’m at university I consider manchester my home. It’s a place I’ve always felt safe, I’ve always felt accepted and I’ve always felt part of a community. 

To even begin to process the fact that someone walked into the Manchester arena knowing they would be putting lives of thousands of young, innocent children in danger is an impossibility. 

I’m sure by now you will all have read the news, seen on social media or heard friends talking about the attack and something that has become abundantly clear is the fact that Manchester will forever stand united. It’s in our blood, when something so tragic happens we stand together and work as a community to rebuild our city and rebuild the safe community atmosphere we all know and love. 

Greater Manchester police have released the name of the attacker, something I’m not going to mention because I don’t believe he deserves to be recognised. He was a sick human being to do what he did. No religion advocates the killing of inncoent children and people who were out enjoying a pop concert. I don’t care what anyone says, no “God” would wish for His followers to do such a thing. 

We don’t yet know if he was working alone or as part of a group but I hope for the sake of my community he was alone. Enough innocent people have lost their lives or been injured. Enough is enough. This needs to end. I will never understand why people can’t just allow others to live their lives. Why do people feel the need to hate on others or cause pain to others? 

As I mentioned earlier, I’m still struggling to process what happened 27 hours ago. I had friends at that concert, Ronny knowledge they all got out safely and unharmed. That said, I live just outside the city centre in a smaller town and one of those who has died in the explosion came from my town. He was a dance teacher, I’ve seen him doing his weekly shop on numerous occasions. I’ve even been on a bus with him. I think this is when it hit me house close to home this attack was. 

I’m only 20, so for me, this is the first thing like this I can remember and it’s something I’m never going to forget. 

One thing I want to talk about is how well my city has dealt with this incident. 

Minutes after the attack hundreds of emergency services were onsite helping with casualties. Police officers were stood cordening off areas all night incase another explosion went off in the arena and working towards finding out who did this, some of these officers worked 20 hour shifts to help protect their community.  

Not only this, we had members of the public offering free taxi rides for those who couldn’t get home, people driving into town towards the explosion to help get people away and to safety. We had people looking after children who had been separated from their parents and keeping them safe, we had people opening their doors to complete strangers that needed somewhere to sleep for the night. Within half an hour of the explosion so many people from manchester came out to help and support their community and that just shows how amazing Manchester is as a city. It makes me so proud to say I’m from Manchester. To be a part of a community that sticks together when times get tough makes my heart warm. 

A terrorist attack may have happened in Manchester on the evening of May 22nd but one things for sure. The people from Manchester will always stand together and we will not be terrified. 


Leave a Reply

